Earlier version of this website received financial support from
(Canadian International Development Agency)
through the
Tree Link Project

provided support to acquire the necessary equipment and software.

UPM Forestry Faculty supported the Internet services till 2002.

Currently support is provided by the
IT Unit, FRIM.


Activities > 25th Meeting of the APAFRI Executive Committee


Twenty-Fifth Meeting of the APAFRI Executive Committee

23 September 2021 (Thursday)
Licuala Meeting Room, Forest Research Institute Malaysia (FRIM)



Minutes of the 25th EC Meeting


The 25th Executive Committee Meeting was successfully organized virtually with the participation of five members of the current Executive Committee.

Since the last meeting, there were two representative changes in the committee. Dr. Gan informed that Dr. Ismail Parlan is the new Director General of FRIM, replacing Dr. Khali Aziz bin Hamzah who had retired on 29 April 2021; and Dr. Hyungsoon Choi is the new representative of National Institute of Forest Science (NIFoS), replacing Dr. Kim Myungkil who has moved on to other assignment.

The meeting was chaired by Dr. Ismail Parlan, the Chairman. In his opening remarks, the Chairman welcomed Dr. Hyungsoon Choi to join the committee and expressed his appreciations to Dr. Khali Aziz bin Hamzah and Dr. Kim Myungkil for their contributions to the success of APAFRI. Feeling honoured to be involved as the Chairman of APAFRI, he mentioned that FRIM has hosted APAFRI Secretariat since 2001 and provided personnel supports for the operation of the secretariat. He introduced Dr. Pin Kar Yong, a FRIM officer, who now assist Dr. Gan to manage the Secretariat.

One of the main agenda discussed during this meeting was the proposal to conduct the Ninth General Assembly virtually in early December 2021.

Updated on 6 October 2021

APAFRI Secretariat, c/o Forest Research Institute Malaysia (FRIM), 52109 Kepong, Selangor, Malaysia.
Phone: +60-3-6272 2516 Fax:+60-3-6277 3249 Email:

Please send comments and suggestions to WEB ADMINISTRATOR